Our Daily Bread

Had a bit of an indoor day today so indulged in making a proper roast dinner – braised partridge (bought at Ballards, one of several great butchers in Castle Douglas) followed by a bramble jam sponge and custard.

Despite all the above being yummy (even if I do say so myself) the best meal of the day was my tea of toasted Galloway spelt bread slathered with slightly salted butter and consumed by the fire with a cuppa.The bread is made in Laurieston by Earth’s Crust bakery and we bought it on a whim at the wholefoods shop. We’ll be going back for more!

When the weather improved – and it was a lovely sunny afternoon, if blustery – we did more garden planning and dragged up fallen branches and old logs from the undergrowth. I also waved goodbye to the summer and dug out my winter wardrobe – farewell maxi skirts, hello corduroy and jumpers.

